People Get Awards For The Dumbest Things

News Hub Creator

Top 10 Weirdest Awards:

AThere are numerous awards given in almost all fields out there, from literature to architecture. And there are some awards, absolutely bizarre in their aspects. Over the years, they have grabbed the world's attention and inspired competition among people to win or to avoid them. Here is a list of 10 of the weirdest awards around the world.

10. Darwin Award

The Darwin Awards are given posthumously to those who make the ultimate sacrifice to protect the gene pool, via death or sterilization. It was the brainchild of a group of people in the later 1980s and was officially started in 1993. The concept even became a subject for a film, titled The Darwin Awards, directed by Finn Taylor in 2006.

9. Ig Nobel Prize

The Ig Nobel Prize is given to seemingly bizarre inventions that make us laugh and think. The awards are given in 10 categories and presented at Harvard University. Sir Andre Geim is the only person to have received both a Nobel Prize and Ig Nobel prize. He won the Ig Nobel in 2000 and the Nobel Prize in 2010, both in Physics.

8. Foot in the Mouth Award.

The Foot in Mouth Award is presented each year to the person who makes the most confounding comment each year. Founded in 1993, it has been given by the magazine the Plain English Campaign. The other winners include Alicia Silverstone, Gordon Brown and Silvio Berlusconi. Welsh politician Rhodri Morgan is so far the only one to have been selected for the award twice.

7. Ernie Award

The Ernie Awards were begun in 1993, and is named after Ernie Ecob, former secretary of Australian Workers' Union. The award ceremony was in celebration of his resignation from Labor Council of New South Wales. Since then it has been presented annually to people who make misogynist comments. Famous people including former Australian Prime Minister John Howard and Tony Abbott have won the undesirable awards multiple times.

6. Bent Spoon Award

The Bent Spoon Award, instituted by Australian Skeptics in 1982, is presented to an individual who makes the most preposterous claim of paranormal or pseudoscientific nature. The winner of the inaugural award was psychic Tom Wards. The award trophy, yet to be seen by anyone, is claimed to consist of a piece of wood from the Noah's Ark on which a spoon used in the Last Supper is affixed. The spoon is bent by some extraordinary energy and gold-plated by Atlantean process.

5. Golden Collar Award

The Golden Collar Awards are similar to the Academy Awards, except they are given to dogs. The website Dog News Daily established it in 2012 to recognize the best canine actors. The winner will receive a trophy designed by Simon Tavassoli that features an Italian Leather Collar encrusted with Swarovski crystals.

4. Bad Sex in Fiction Award

The award is given each year to the author who portrays a sex scene in the worst possible way in a novel. The memento depicts a naked woman draped over an open book. It was first presented to Melvyn Bragg for his novel A Time to Dance. Popular writers like Philip Kerr, Ben Okri, Manil Suri and Tom Wolfe are among the winners.

3. Diagram Prize

The Diagram Prize, established in 1978, is a yearly literary award given to the book with the most unusual title. Some of the winning titles include Living with Crazy Buttocks, The Joy of Chickens, Oral Sadism and the Vegetarian Personality, Cooking with Poo, and Bombproof Your Horse. The winner is determined by public voting on The Bookseller's website.

2. Pigasus Award

The Pigasus Award was established in 1982 by popular American skeptic James Randi. Individuals who make outlandish claims about paranormal and psychic activities are given the award. The awards, which were renamed the Pigasus award in 1997, are usually announced on April Fools' Day.

1. Big Brother Awards

Big Brother awards are named after George Orwell's character Big Brother from the famous novel Nineteen Eighty-Four. Various countries, including the United States, have their own versions of the awards. The awards are organized to draw attention to the authorities' increasing violations of privacy.

News Hub Creator

Home -> Country