5 Remarkable Premier League Records Held by Edwin Van Dar Sar as a Man United Goalkeeper.

News Hub Creator

Edwin Van Dar Sar, who is the current CEO of Ajax, is a former Dutch international goalkeeper, who once played for Manchester United. In his playing days, the goalkeeper was one of the best goalkeepers in the Premier League and in world football.

Over the years, the Premier League has been graced by some of the best goalkeepers around. The likes of David James, David Seaman, Peter Cech, Peter Schmeichel and Edwin Van Dar Sar to mention a few are some of the best of the lot.

In fact, Van Dar Sar left his mark on the English game before his retirement in 2011. As at today, there are some Premier League records set by Van Dar Sar that haven't been matched nor broken yet.

After Peter Shmicheal retired, Manchester United struggled to find an ideal replacement until Van Dar Sar was signed from fellow Premier League club Fulham. The signing took place in 2005. The rest they say is history.

4 Premier League titles, one UEFA Champions League trophy, multiple Community Shields, the 2008 Club World Cup and a host of other trophies were won with him as the clubs first choice goalkeeper.

In this article, I will tell you 5 remarkable Premier League records held by Edwin Van Dar Sar.

5. Longest clean sheets.

One of the things a goalkeeper wants to do is prevent the opposition from scoring against him. Any goalkeeper who successfully does this is credited with a clean sheet. This is one area in which Van Dar Sar holds a Premier League record.

The former Premier League winner holds the record for the longest consecutive clean sheets run in the Premier League. In the 2008/2009 Premier League season, Edwin Van Dar Sar kept am incredible 14 consecutive clean sheets in the Premier League.

Aided by the rock solid defensive partnership of Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic, Van Dar Sar was able to go 14 consecutive games without conceding a single goal. He broke Peter Cech's record when he did this.

Photo credit: Squawka

Till date, no goalkeeper has been able to match this. Although, sadly, he error kef to the goal that brought this run to an end.

4. The oldest Premier League winner.

When Manchester United won the Premier League title in 2011, they had a goalkeeper set a new record for being the oldest person to win the Premier League title. In that year, Van Dar Sar was 40 years and 205 days old.

3. Joint Most Premier League titles in succession by a goalkeeper.

Van Dar Sar won the Premier League with Manchester United in 2007, 2008 and 2009 to complete wining the trophy in three successive seasons. Although, when he achieved this, he only matched another goalkeeper's record.

In 1999, 2000 and 2001, Peter Schmeichel won the Premier League title to set this record. As things stands, they are the only two goalkeepers to have done so.

2. Longest time without conceding a goal.

Inside the incredible 14 consecutive clean sheets run, Edwin Van Dar Sar also set another Premier League record. This time around, it concerns playing time.

For an incredible 1311 minutes of Premier League action, Edwin Van Dar Sar didn't concede a goal. This record is not just a Premier League record, it is record in Europe's top 5 leagues.

This run went for more than 20 hours of Premier League football without conceding a goal. With the rate at which teams now go on the attack in football, it is difficult to see a goalkeeper who will deny the opposition for such a long time to break this record.

1. The Dutch connection.

The Premier League has been graced by some fantastic Dutchmen down the years. The likes of Ruud Van Nistelrooy, Denis Bergkamp, Kuyt, Robben, Overmans, Van Persie and Ruud Gullit to mention a few have had fantastic careers in the league.

Ruud Van Nistelrooy.

Virgil Van Dijk.

Recently, Virgil Van Dijk is making it for the Netherlands in the Premier League. However, of all these players and the others I didn't mention, Edwin Van Dar Sar holds the record of being the only Dutchman who has won the Premier League title as a goalkeeper.

Other players from the Netherlands who have won the trophy have been outfield players. Van Dar Sar is the only exception till date.

Do you think Van Dar Sar is the best goalkeeper in the Premier in the 2000s?

News Hub Creator feedback-newshub@operanewshub.com

Home -> Country