More Than 80 Cases of Monkey Pox Confirmed in 12 Countries

News Hub Creator

More than 80 monkey pox infections have been confirmed by the World Health Organization in nine European nations, the United States, Canada, and Australia. The UK, Spain, Portugal, Germany, Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Italy, and Sweden are among the European countries affected. According to the BBC, the WHO is investigating another 50 potential cases in other, unnamed nations.

Monkey pox is a rare viral infection that most people recover from in a few weeks, according to reports. It is most common in remote parts of Central and West Africa. The current outbreaks are unusual in that they took place in non-endemic nations.

According to the BBC, the virus is not easily shared between humans and hence poses a low risk. However, Hans Kluge, the WHO's regional director for Europe, warned that as the continent approached the summer season, with large gatherings, festivals, and parties, transmission might pick up. Only one of the recent cases, according to Kluge, had traveled to locations where monkey pox was endemic.

While there is no specific vaccine for monkey pox, it is protected by the smallpox vaccine, as the two viruses are said to be identical. Authorities in the United Kingdom and Spain have purchased smallpox vaccination for persons who have been exposed to the monkey pox virus.

News Hub Creator

Home -> Country