4 prominent senators who have spent 16 years in the National Assembly

News Hub Creator

Many Nigerians complain about how state governors always treat their aspiration for a second term as non-negotiable. However, no matter how ambitious a governor is, he cannot spend more than eight years in power in line with the nation’s constitutional provisions.

Meanwhile, Nigerian senators enjoy unlimited tenure and can remain in the Red Chamber for as long as they are re-elected.

The essence of this is to preserve institutional memory and ensure there are experienced lawmakers in the National Assembly at every time. 

However, there are apprehensions that some sit-tight Nigerian politicians may take an undue advantage of this privilege and unnecessarily perpetuate themselves in the National Assembly.

This piece lists four Nigerian senators who will have spent at least 16 years at the upper legislative chamber by 2023. The first listed two will be completing five terms (20 years) by 2023.

1.Ike Ekweremadu (PDP)

Senator Ekweremadu (Enugu West/PDP). Photo credit: Twitter/@iamekweremadu

Senator Ike Ekweremadu has completed four terms in the Senate, He was first elected into the National Assembly in 2003. By the next general elections in 2023, he will be completing his 20 years (five terms) at the Red Chamber. 

The Enugu West senator has said he won’t be contesting for the Senate seat again in 2023.

2.James Manager (PDP)

James Manager (Delta South/PDP). Photo credit: Facebook/Senator James manager

Senator James Manager who represents Delta South senatorial district has also been in the Senate since 2003.This implies that he will also be completing his 20 years (five terms) at the Red Chamber in 2023, just like Ekweremadu.

3. Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan (APC)

Senator Ibrahim Lawan (Yobe North/APC). Photo credit: Twitter/@DrAhmadLawan

Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan, the current president of the Senate, has been in the Senate since 2007.

By 2023, the Yobe North senator will be completing his fourth term of 16 years in the upper chamber.

4.Eyinnaya  Abaribe (PDP)

Senator Enyinnaya Harcourt Abaribe is the current minority leader of the Senate. The Abia-South senator has been in the Senate since 2007. He will also be completing his fourth term (16 years) in 2023.

News Hub Creator feedback-newshub@operanewshub.com

Home -> Country