Check Out The Original Map Of How Europe Divided African Continent Among Themselves In Berlin


In 1984/85, European colonialists gathered in Berlin, the capital of Germany to balkanize African countries into colonies for themselves, the European imperialists, after the partitioning British and France got the largest chunk of the territories to colonise.

Britain colonised countries like Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Southern Cameroon (which later joined northern Cameroon to form Cameroon), Sierra Leone, Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi, South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Sudan and Eswatini (former Swaziland).

Franch in the other hand, also colonised many countries in Africa, such as Mali, Togo, Guinea Conakry, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, Benin, Mauritania, Senegal, Niger, Northern Cameroon, Central African Republic, Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Congo-Brazzaville, Chad and many more.

Image credited to Claudia Webbe MP

French Government even compelled 14 countries in Africa to pay colonial tax since 1961 still date, and those countries are in West African and Central African subregions, and this French policy has attracted many criticisms from educated Africans. European countries like Portugal, Belgium, Germany and many more equally had their colonies then, though, Germany lost their colonies after the world war to other European colonialists.

Screenshot from Claudia Webbe MP's verified Facebook page

Share widely