Sundowns crowned 6th time Nedbank Cup champions

News Hub Creator

Sundowns crowned 6th time Nedbank Cup champions

Mamelodi Sundowns won their third trophy for the 2021/22 season as they won the Nedbank Cup final 2-1 against Marumo Gallants after extra-time had to be implemented after a 1-1 draw at full-time.

Mamelodi Sundowns won the Nedbank Cup final against Marumo Gallants all thanks to Peter Shalulile for his goal in the 33rd minute and Thapelo Morena's 120th minute goal.

Marumo Gallants got on the scoresheet as Sede Junior Dion came off the bench in the 73rd minute just to score two minutes later in the 75th minute.

Despite Marumo Gallants efforts to draw -1-1 against Sundowns, extra-time crowned Sundowns the winners after a very competitive final match.

Mamelodi Sundowns has now won their sixth Nedbank Cup trophy, and Marumo Gallants came really close to defending their title which they won last season.

Mamelodi Sundowns won their first Nedbank Cup title back in 1986, their second in 1998, and their third in 2008.

In the last ten years Sundowns won the Nedbank Cup title in the 2014/15 season, 2019/20 and now in the 2021/22 season which gets them to six Nedbank Cup titles.

Mamelodi Sundowns ended the 2021/22 season in style winning the MTN8 title, the DStv Premiership title and the Nedbank Cup title, which indicates that Sundowns bitter rivals Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates should step up next season to challenge Sundowns for a title race.

Comment, like, share and follow me for more insightful news.


News Hub Creator

Home -> Country